Outstanding School Award

BC School Sports Outstanding School Award


To recognize a school whose special commitment to improving the lives of its students and staff through athletics, leadership and public service has contributed significantly to the welfare of school athletics in its local community and to BCSS.


The perpetual award is a large plaque, on display in the BCSS office.  The winning schools are presented with a gold and royal blue Outstanding School Award banner.

Eligibility Criteria

Nominees must be a BC SCHOOL SPORTS Member School in good standing.  Additional criteria to be used in evaluating nominated schools:

  • Extent of extracurricular program;
  • Staff involvement in coaching and sport administration;
  • Participation in various BCSS programs;
  • Awards earned, i.e. sportsmanship, individual or team excellence;
  • Public service projects;
  • Work done with special populations;
  • Fundraising projects;
  • Athletic program’s contribution to the school community;
  • Special characteristics/activities unique to the school.

Nomination Procedure

Any staff member in a school may initiate a nomination on behalf of a school.  The person(s) nominating must complete the above nomination form and may submit supporting letters  stating why the school should be selected (i.e. a maximum of a three page letter).  This letter should address the applicable areas as well as any additional information which would be relevant to the BCSS Scholarship and Awards Committee in its deliberations.  In addition there should be a letter from the school administrator explaining the place of extracurricular sport and physical activity programs in the school. 

2021-2022 Winner

GW Graham 

Merritt Secondary

Past Recipients

2020-2021 Not awarded - Covid
2019-2020  Gudangaay Tlaats'gaa Naay Secondary-Haida Gwaii
2018-2019 Nakusp Secondary
2017-2018 Bulkley Valley Christian School (Smithers)
2016-2017  Khalsa Secondary
2015-2016 Princess Margaret (Penticton)
2014-2015 St. Thomas Aquinas and Abbotsford Christian Middle School 
2013-2014 L.V. Rogers Secondary
2012-2013 Kelowna Christian
2011-2012 Sa-Hali Secondary
2010-2011 Prince of Wales
2009-2010 Immaculata High
2008-2009 Riverside Secondary
2007-2008 Okanagan Mission
2006-2007 Duncan Christian
2005-2006 St Thomas Aquinas
2004-2005 St Ann's Academy
2003-2004 Ashcroft Secondary
2002-2003 Penticton High

Platinum Partners