BC School Sports Scholarships

The 400+ Member Schools of BC School Sports are pleased to announce this year's BC School Sports Scholarship Fund. The association is dedicated to assisting worthy student-athletes in their desire to attend an accredited Canadian University or College.  

The BC School Sports Scholarships reward excellence in both scholastic and athletic pursuits. The successful applicants will be student-athletes who have balanced their high academic achievements with significant success as school athletes and contributors to their community. 


BC School Sports will consider candidates who meet ALL of the following Criteria:

  • Dave Gifford Memorial Scholarship Applicants must have competed in at least (2) two BCSS approved sports during grade 12.  Unsuccessful applicants for the Dave Gifford Memorial Scholarship will automatically be considered for their respective Zone Scholarship. (Please DO NOT complete 2 applications)
  • Zone Scholarship Applicants must have competed in at least (1) one BCSS approved sport during grade 12
  • Are in a B.C. School who are graduating this year
  • Are entering their first year of full-time studies in a Canadian University or College
  • Have demonstrated exceptional athletic achievement in a BCSS sanctioned sport
  • Have a minimum grade percentage of 75%
  • Have demonstrated outstanding service and leadership in school and/or community


Payment of Scholarship Fund: 

Scholarships will be paid to successful applicants upon receipt by BC School Sports of a fulltime course of studies confirmation at an accredited Canadian University or College. Recipients of the BCSS Scholarships will have to commence their fulltime course of post-secondary studies by September of the following year in order to claim their scholarship funds.


2013-14 BCSS Scholarship Recipients

Dave Gifford Male Recipient: John Gay - Okanagan Mission Secondary
Dave Gifford Female Recipient: Mieke Marie Dumont - South Kamloops Secondary
Zone A Recipient: Kyle MacLean - Fernie Secondary School
Zone B Recipient: Malcolm Heinrichs - Southern Okanagan Secondary School
Zone B Recipient: Rylee McKinlay - Princess Margaret Secondary
Zone C Recipient: Andre Dube - Lakes District Secondary
Zone C Recipient: Carly Shaw-MacLaren - Duchess Park Secondary
Zone D Recipient: Jamie Tersago - Smithers Secondary
Zone D Recipient: Ryan Wright - Hazelton Secondary
Zone E Recipient: Michael Baart - St. Michael's University School
Zone E Recipient: Lindsay Cole - Mount Douglas Secondary
Zone F Recipient: Julie Hodanic - Burnaby Mountain Secondary
Zone F Recipient: Tom Kanwischer - Handsworth Secondary
Zone G Recipient: Christine Howlett - South Delta Secondary
Zone G Recipient: Keesha Khehra - North Surrey Secondary
Zone G Recipient: Travis Muller - Langley Christian High School

2012-13 BCSS Scholarship Recipients

Dave Gifford Male Recipient: Jacob Adams - South Kamloops 
Dave Gifford Female Recipient: Regan Yee - Hazelton
Zone A Recipient: Jayden Roch - LV Rogers
Zone B Recipient: Katerina Maryschuck
Zone C Recipient: Luke Holmes -  Duchess Park
Zone D Recipient: Ella Maskiewich-Smithers
Zone E Recipient: Lars Bornemann - Oak Bay
Zone F Recipient: Austin Studer-Argyle
Zone G Recipient: Kylie Shorter - Dr. Charles Best 

Platinum Partners