

Monday, April 17, 2023

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

BC SCHOOL SPORTS ANNOUNCES 2022-23 AWARD WINNERS

BC School sports is pleased to announce our 2022-2023 Award winners.

School sport in British Columbia is driven by those with a passion for seeing our student-athletes develop and succeed. It is because of their commitment and passion for school sport that BCSS and its member schools provide opportunities and run events that create lifelong memories for student-athletes.

These awards recognize and celebrate leaders, coaches, administrators, and officials for their commitment and dedication to BC School Sports, both on and off the field of play.

Through endless hours of servant leadership, these recipients ensure school sport is a possibility for student-athletes. These individuals personify the values of school sport and continue to be an essential piece in its delivery. Please join us in congratulating the following 2022-2023 BCSS Award Winners. They will be formally honoured at the BCSS Awards Dinner on May 12 in Whistler.

HONOUR AWARD:

ANNEMARIE WATTS (VALLEYVIEW SECONDARY)

The Honour Award is the highest form of distinction BCSS can bestow upon an individual. This award is presented to an individual in recognition of a lifetime of service to school sports. The recipient is an individual who has demonstrated prolonged and distinguished service to BC School Sports, their zone, local association, and school. This person has made a significant difference to BCSS and the impact it has on the lives of student-athletes and our member schools.

WOMEN IN SPORTS & LEADERSHIP AWARD:

ASHLYEN SINGH (RICK HANSEN SECONDARY)

This award is to recognize the service and leadership of women in school sports. The recipient is a role model to colleagues and student-athletes alike. The recipient has made a tangible impact on school sport and has demonstrated commitment to their student-athletes, their school, and their sport.

MEDIA PERSON OF THE YEAR AWARD:

HOWARD TSUMURA (VARSITY LETTERS)

Recognizing an individual in the media who has highlighted and celebrated school sport in their reporting. The nominee has continued to bring attention to BCSS, its member schools and student-athletes by showcasing the very best of school sport in BC. The recipient may be employed by traditional media outlets, but those who use blogs, social media, podcasts, or other emerging platforms to consistently promote school sports may be considered.

INSPIRATIONAL SCHOOL AWARD:

CLAREMONT SECONDARY

Recognizing a school whose special commitment to improving the lives of studentathletes and staff through leadership and public service. This school has contributed significantly to the welfare of school athletics and the local community.

CITATION OF EXCELLENCE AWARD - COACH

- DEAN FRANCKS (KALAMALKA SECONDARY)
- TESSA KUBICEK (OAK BAY HIGH)
- TIM MURDY (SHAWNIGAN LAKE SCHOOL)

Recognizing outstanding coaches and their distinguished contributions to their sport and athletes. The recipient of this award guides student-athletes to success through the philosophy of fair play and sportsmanship for a sustained period, while displaying values consistent with BCSS and school sport.

CITATION OF EXCELLENCE AWARD - OFFICIAL

- KARN DHILLON (BASKETBALL)
- FIRST 3-WOMAN OFFICIATING CREW IN PROVINCIAL FINAL
 (DARCY WILLIAMSON, GILDA LOHR, MAREESA KELLY BASKETBALL)
- WALTER BECKER (FOOTBALL)

Recognizing outstanding individuals and their distinguished contributions to the officiating of school sport. The recipient of this award has demonstrated outstanding commitment to school sport, being recognized as a quality official, while displaying the values of BCSS and fair play.

CITATION OF EXCELLENCE AWARD - ADMINISTRATOR:

CHRIS KENNEDY (SUPERINTENDENT, WEST VANCOUVER SCHOOL DISTRICT)

Recognizing the invaluable contributions from administrators to school sport. The recipient has shown demonstrable leadership and sustainable support to athletic programs, athletic directors and coaches while contributing to the promotion and enhancement of athletic programs and the student-athlete experience at the school and/or district level.

CITATION OF EXCELLENCE AWARD - ATHLETIC DIRECTOR

- GERALD LAMBERT (SOUTHRIDGE SCHOOL)
- JODY VOSPER (SA-HALI SECONDARY)

Recognizing the outstanding individuals for excellence as an athletic director and the hard work and dedication shown to improve the student-athlete experience, enhance the school's athletic program, and build the school community at large. The Athletic Director leads by example and consistently demonstrates the values of their school and BC School Sports while finding new creative ways to support their coaches and student-athletes.