Merit Award

BC School Sports Merit Award

The Merit Award is presented to individuals recognizing their outstanding service to a local association or a BCSS Sport in recognition of a long-standing service as a coach, supporter, administrator, or official at the school level. The award consists of a plaque engraved with the recipient’s name. 

Eligibility Criteria


  • Must have been involved as a coach/sponsor, administrator or official at the school level.
  • Must have served administratively on at least one of the following:  Executive of a Local Association; Member of a BCSS Committee; member of the BCSS Board of Directors.
  • Must not currently be a member of the BCSS Board of Directors.
2021-2022 Recipients

Alanna Martin

Doug Meraw

Sharon Carter

Todd Clarke

Past Recipients

2020-2021 Paul Thiessen & Bob Matlock

2019-2020 Don Moslin & Ian Hyde-Lay

2018-2019 Janet Dunkin (Argyle Secondary)

2017-2018 Paul Eberhardt (R.C. Palmer Secondary School)

2013-2014 Darren Reisig (Claremont Secondary School)

2011-2012 (Posthumous) Carey-Lappa (Terry Fox Secondary)


Platinum Partners